Posted on

The Pasture

I started this as a joke, but this effect is really odd. Check out the standard English version of “The Pasture” here. This new mechanical translation uncovers a weird new layer of Frost’s work. Anthologies and critics often treat him as a ironic traditionalist, but it appears he may have been secretly coding messages about a coming technocracy. I’ll have to look more into this odd phenomenon in the rest of his poems.

Sometimes I Fear the European Union

Change the world
But officials
(I’m country, America, I hope I do not know
The Gmail

Groups Beta
Area
Diseases of the language
The Gmail

About mtrease

I am a PhD candidate at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, where I am writing a dissertation on correlations between the media- bending experiments of the historical Avant Garde and concurrent breakthroughs in information theory that made the computer and internet a possibility. I am the project assistant/social media coordinator for UWM's Digital Arts and Culture certificate program. I write small pieces some people may call poetry, entertain my wife and two-year-old son with cartoon-ish voice modulations, and am at work on a mechanical translation of Macedonio Fernandez's Adriana Buenos Aries (the last bad novel).

Leave a comment